Maryland Council for New Americans Membership

  • Membership of the Maryland Council for New Americans reflects the partnership of private and civic sectors with the State (county of residence in parenthesis):


One Maryland County Executive


  • The Honorable Isiah Leggett, Co-Chair(Montgomery County)
    • Montgomery County Executive


One additional respresentative from county government


  • David Gray(Frederick County)
    • Frederick County Commissioner


One representative from municipal government


  • Renee Samuels, designated by Mayor Sheila Dixon(Baltimore City)
    • Director, Mayor's Office of International and Immigrant Affairs


Three representatives from nonprofit social service organizations that reflect the ethnic diversity of the State


  • Barbara L. Gradet(Baltimore County)
    • Executive Director of Jewish Community Services
    • Member of the Baltimore County Commission on Aging
    • Board Member for International Association of Jewish Vocational Services


  • Michael C. Lin, Ph.D.(Montgomery County)
    • Former National Executive Director and National President of the Organization of Chinese Americans
    • Vice Chair of the Montgomery College Board of Trustees
    • President of the Asian American Political Alliance
    • President of the Asian American POlitical Alliance


  • Gustavo Torres(Montgomery County)
    • Executive Director of CASA of Maryland
    • Board Member for the National Coalition for Immigration Comprehension
    • Board Member for Washington Adventist Hospital


Three representatives from private sector employers


  • Jimmie Walton Paschall
    • Global Diversity Officer and Senior Vice President of External Affairs for Marriott International
    • Member of Patton Bogg's Diversity Advisory Board
    • Member of the Georgetown University Chief Diversity Officers Consortium


  • Pamela Paulk(Baltimore City)
    • Vice President of Human Resources for the Johns Hopkins Hospital
    • Member of the Baltimore Workforce Investment Board
    • Founder of the Baltimore Alliance for Careers in Healthcare


  • Jere Stocks
    • President of Washington Adventist Hospital
    • Board Member of the Greater Silver Spring Chamber of Commerce


Eleven representatives from faith-based organizations and the clergy


  • Earl El-Amin(Baltimore City)
    • Imam at the Muslim Community Cultural Center


  • Reverend Jamal Bryant(Baltimore County)
    • Pastor at the African Methodist Episcopal Empowerment Temple


  • Reverend Kerry Hill(Prince George's County)
    • Pastor of the New Chapel Baptist Church


  • Pastor John K. Jenkins, Sr.(Prince George's County)

    • Senior Pastor of the First Baptist Church of Glenarden in Landover, MD
    • Chairman of Project Bridges
    • Trustee for Bethel University


  • Pastor Jamila Woods-Jones(Prince George's County resident pastoring in Charles County)
    • Vice Chair, African American Leadership Committee
    • President, Partnership for Renewal for Southern and Central Maryland
    • Charles County Juvenile Drug Court


  • Walter Lee(Howard County)
    • Pastor of Bethel Korean Presbyterian Church in Ellicott City
    • Recently served on Howard County Public School System's Equity Council


  • Reverend Joseph L. Muth, Jr.(Baltimore City)

    • Pastor at St. Matthew's Church
    • Founder and Board Member of Immigration Outreach Service Center at St. Matthew's Church


  • Pastor John Odukoya(Prince George's County)
    • Board Chairman for Well of Restoration
    • Outreach Coordinator of The Fountain of Life Church
    • Member of World Vision


  • Pastor Ghandi Olaoye(Montgomery County)

    • Pastor of the Jesus House DC
    • Coordinator-in-charge of Conventions and Special Projects for The Redeemed Christian Church of God RCCG, North America


  • Rabbi Stuart Weinblatt(Montgomery County)

    • Rabbi at B'nai Tzedek


  • Reverend Harlie Wilson(Baltimore City)

    • Pastor at Israel Baptist Church


One representative from higher education


  • Lenneal J. Henderson(Howard County)
    • Distinguished Professor at the School of Public Affairs at the University of Baltimore
    • Senior Research Associate at the Schaefer Center for Public Policy
    • Senior Fellow at the Hoffberger Center for Professional Ethics


One representative with expertise in adult education and language acquisition


  • Young-Chan Han(Howard County)
    • Family Involvement Specialist for the Maryland State Department of Education
    • Board Member of the Foreign Born Information and Referral Network


One representative from the banking and financial services sector


  • William Couper
    • Mid-Atlantic President of Bank of America


One representative from the healthcare sector


  • Vinod Shah, M.D.(St. Mary's County)
    • Physician with Shah & Associations
    • Incoming President, American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin
    • Former Board Member, St. Mary's COllege


One representative from organized labor



One representative from small business


  • Margaret Kim(Howard County)
    • President and COO of AllCare of Maryland, LLC
    • Advisory Board Member for the Asian Student Achievement Program
    • Board of Trustees Member for Howard County General Hospital Foundation


One representative from a national organization with expertise in demographic trends and public policy


  • Michael Fix
    • Senior Vice President and Director of Studies for the Migration Policy Institute


One representative from the philanthropic sector


  • Irene Lee(Montgomery County)
    • Senior Prgrammer for the Annie E. Casey Foundation
    • Finance Committee Chair of the Washington Regional Association of Grantmakers
    • Member of the Task Force on Remittances for the Inter-American Dialogue Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees


  • Through government representatives will not make up the majority of the Council, the following members will be Ex-officio Members:
    • Secretary Tom Perez (Co-Chair of the Coucil), Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
    • Depurty Secretary Clarence Bishop, Department of Business and Economic Development
    • Deputy Secretary Matt Power, Department of Planning; Secretary Rich Hall will be in attendance
    • Deputy Secretary Stacy Rodgers, Department of Human Resources
    • Secretary Ray Skinner, Department of Housing and Community Development
    • Executive Director Eric M. Seleznow, Governor's Workforce Investment Board
    • Executive Director Izzy Patoka, Governor's Office of Community Initiatives
    • Special Secretary Luwanda Jenkins, Governor's Office of Minority Affairs
    • Chair Mary Scott, Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture
    • Chair Maria Welch, Governor's Commission on Hispanic Affairs
    • Chair Jane Nidisha, Governor's Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs
    • Chair Auriel Fenwick, Maryland Commission on Indian Affairs
    • Chair Anwer Hasan, Governor's Commission on Middle Eastern American Affairs